top of page

Glenn Strebel Award


The Glenn Strebel Award recognizes law enforcement officers who have made contributions to bring professionalism to the enforcement of truck laws in Illinois.

Who was Glenn Strebel?
Glenn Strebel worked as a part-time police officer in East Dundee, IL from 2006-2009. During his tour of duty he became a truck officer. Glenn was very active in truck enforcement and would have believed in the ITEA motto, “Exceptional Authority Demands Exceptional Accountability”. If there was ever a question about enforcement when Glenn did not know the right answer, he would do the right thing. He would reach out to other truck officers from neighboring police agencies to try and find the right answer instead of writing a bad ticket and moving on.

Unfortunately, Glenn was never able to become a member of the Illinois Truck Enforcement Association. On September 10th, 2009 Glen passed away from a rare cancer at the age of 42. He was not only an excellent police officer, but he retired from the Village of Barrington Fire Department in 2008 as a Lieutenant. The Illinois Truck Enforcement Association was formed to assist officers like Glenn by providing proper training and resources needed to effectively enforce truck laws.

You can read more about Glenn from our blog post.

All sworn ITEA members of a local, county and state law enforcement agencies are eligible. Any member sitting on the ITEA Board of Directors is not eligible for consideration.

Nominations for the Glenn Strebel Award are open now. Anyone may submit a nomination to the ITEA, but the nominee must be approved by the Chief Executive or the administrator for the police  agency by which the nominee is employed. Nominations shall be submitted online to the ITEA Board of Directors.


Previous Winners

2014 – Deputy Andrew Thomas, McHenry County Sheriff’s Office, awarded January 7th, 2015

2015 – Officer Arthur Fink, Vernon Hills Police Department, awarded on March 17th, 2016

2016 – Officer Tim Sheldon, Hillsboro Police Department, awarded February 22, 2017

2017 – Officer Scott Clark, Mundelein Police Department, awarded on March 29th, 2018

2018 – Officer Steven Prindle, Richmond Police Department, awarded on March 1st, 2019

2019- Officer Nick Funk, Boone County Sheriff's Office, awarded March 6, 2020

2020- No award was issued due to COVID-19 and the cancellation of the conference

2021 Trooper Bryan McPeek, Illinois State Police, and Officer Keith Jarosz, East Hazel Crest Police Department,

awarded on March 11, 2022


2022 Sergeant Matt Wiegel, Lakewood Police Department, awarded on March 10, 2023


Presentation of Award

The award will be presented at the ITEA Annual Conference each year. The award recipient and the Chief Executive(s) or administrator(s) will be invited to the awards presentation. The recipient will receive a free one-year membership to the ITEA, paid tuition for the following year’s ITEA Annual Conference, and a plaque.


Entry Rules: 

  • Entries must be based on the person’s performance from January 1st – to December 31st of that year.

  • Nominations must be returned to the ITEA by 31 JANUARY.

  • All entries and supporting data become the property of the Illinois Truck Enforcement Association and will not be returned.

  • The ITEA Board of Directors will review the entries and determine the selected winner(s).

  • Winners will be notified by mail.

  • The ITEA reserves the right to publish the names and photographs of the winner and their agencies on our website.

bottom of page